Cityhood Proposals: Essential Reference Materials

The North Briarcliff Civic Association
(NBCA) Position on Cityhood: At thistime, the NBCA is neutral about possible inclusion in a city. The NBCA has not contributed to any
cityhood initiative or group. Our priority is to educate you about the
issues. When more information is available, the NBCA might decide to take a
position. Before any referendum, we will sponsor a public meeting to discuss
that specific city, its feasibility, and potential costs and benefits.

NBCA offers the following information to help residents follow the cityhood
happenings the 2014 Georgia legislative session.

In addition, please see our Municipal Options section of the website as well.


  LEGISLATORS to be aware of:

  • DEKALB DELEGATION (all state representatives & senators who represent any part of DeKalb).  More contact info available in DeKalb Delegation document.  Identify your own Representative and Senator at; they may have weekly (during the session) e-newsletters on what is happening at the Capitol (all topics) that you can sign up for.

DeKalb Representatives:   Dar’shun Kendrick (D-Lithonia),   Pat Gardner (D-Atlanta),   Mike Jacobs (R-Atlanta),   Scott Holcomb (D-Atlanta),   Stacey Abrams (D-Atlanta),   Karla Drenner (D-Avondale Estates),   Billy Mitchell (D-Stone Mountain),   Simone Bell (D-Atlanta),   Tom Taylor (R-Dunwoody),   Mary Margaret Oliver (D-Decatur),   Stephanie Stuckey Benfield (D-Atlanta),   Michele Henson (D-Stone Mountain),   Ernest “Coach” Williams (D-Avondale Estates),   Howard Mosby (D-Atlanta),   Pam Stephenson (D-Atlanta),   Rahn Mayo (D-Decatur),   Dee Dawkins-Haigler (D-Lithonia). DeKalb Senators:  Ron Ramsey (D-Decatur), Emanuel Jones (D-Decatur), Fran Millar (R-Atlanta), Steve Henson (D-Tucker), Jason Carter (D-Decatur), Gail Davenport (D-Jonesboro), Gloria Butler (D-Stone Mountain).

  CITYHOOD LEGISLATION (involving NBCA area) SUPPORT ORGANIZATIONS (listed alphabetically):



  • HB 665. DeKalb County; incorporate a new municipality. Oliver 82nd. [Briarcliff/Druid Hills]
  • HB 677. DeKalb County; incorporate a new municipality. Mitchell 88th, Henson 86th, Williams 87th. [Tucker]
  • HB 687. DeKalb County; incorporate a new municipality. Stephenson 90th, Mosby 83rd, Dawkins-Haigler 91st, Kendrick 93rd, Henson 86th, Drenner 85th. [<no name>]
  • SB 270. Lakeside, City of; DeKalb County; incorporate. Millar 40th. [Lakeside]
  • SB 275. Lavista Hills, City of; DeKalb County; incorporate. Carter 42nd. [LaVista Hills]

GETTING TO the CAPITOL: Driving directions:  Take I-75/85 South to Exit 248A (Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive).  Bear right onto Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive.  The Capitol will be on the left.  Public parking (fees vary) is available in several locations surrounding the Capitol; the best possibilities during the legislative session are:

  • Steve Polk Plaza Parking on Jesse Hill Jr St (formerly Butler St).  Warmest & driest route from here to the Capitol may be: Park on 3rd-5th levels near elevator/stairs (SW corner of deck); ride/climb to the 5th level; cross the bridge to the Butler lot; take an immediate right to another elevator/stairs; ride/descend to the 3rd/bridge level; cross over Hill St into the Twin Towers state office building; bear left, exit the south doors and cross to the Capitol.
  • Underground Parking: A parking garage located on the north side of Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, two blocks west of the Capitol

Two MARTA stations within easy walking distance of the Capitol:

  • Georgia State:  Exit to Piedmont Ave.
  • Underground Atlanta: Walk thru Underground, exiting toward the intersection of MLK/Courtland, at Steve Polk Plaza where the Coke museum used to stand.